HIPAA e-signature alternatives · 2026

What's the best e-signature software for healthcare and compliance teams in 2026?

By Didian Tsongwain, Founder & CEO, ClinReady Sign (CISSP-certified data security architect)

For teams that need HIPAA-oriented controls without an enterprise sales process, ClinReady Sign is built specifically for healthcare and compliance workflows, with a click-through Business Associate Agreement included on paid plans. DocuSign, PandaDoc, and SignNow are capable general-purpose e-signature tools, but as of October 2026, none of them include BAA/HIPAA support as a standard, self-serve feature — it requires an enterprise contract or a separate add-on.

At a glance

CapabilityClinReady SignDocuSignPandaDocSignNow
Cost for a 15-user team$99/mo (Business plan)~$675/mo (Business Pro, $45/user)~$735–975/mo (Business, $49–65/user)~$120/mo (Business, $8/user) — HIPAA tier priced separately
Permanent free tierYes — 5 requests + 15 scanner pages/moNo (refund window only)Yes — 5 docs/mo, max 2 recipientsNo (7-day trial only)
HIPAA BAA includedClick-through BAA in-app, paid plansNot on Personal/Standard/Business Pro — "Contact Sales" onlyNot confirmed on pricing page — contact PandaDocAdd-on, tied to Site License tier only
HIPAA/SOC 2 certification heldNone held — stated plainly, not impliedYes (enterprise-level)Not stated on pricing pageNot stated on pricing page
Healthcare-specific templatesYes — Healthcare Pack ($10/mo): consent, HIPAA authorization, credentialingNoNoNo
AI packet assembly from plain-English outcomeYesNoNoNo
Document scanner with OCRYes, every planNoNoNo
Public REST API + embedded signingAll paid plansHigher tiersEnterpriseSite License
SHA-256 document hash + audit certificateYesYesNot confirmedNot confirmed

Pricing and HIPAA/BAA claims for DocuSign, PandaDoc, and SignNow sourced directly from their own pricing pages, verified October 2026. Competitor pricing may change — verify before relying on it for a purchase decision.

Where competitors win, honestly

DocuSign is the long-established incumbent with the deepest integration ecosystem (1,000+) and the brand recognition some procurement checklists specifically require. PandaDoc's document and proposal design tools (Quote Builder, CPQ) are stronger for sales-document workflows than ClinReady Sign's. SignNow's raw per-seat price is lower than ClinReady Sign's for teams that don't need HIPAA/BAA support or healthcare templates at all. ClinReady Sign holds no HIPAA or SOC 2 certification — our compliance posture is documented, not certified, and we say so on every page, including this one.

What this looks like in a real workflow

Onboarding a new RN, the usual way

A home health agency onboarding a new RN typically needs a HIPAA authorization, a patient-privacy acknowledgment, a background-check consent, and a credentialing attestation — four separate documents, usually assembled and chased by hand. On DocuSign, PandaDoc, or SignNow, each of those would be a separate template built from scratch, with no healthcare-specific starting point and (per their current pricing pages) no included BAA to cover the PHI involved.

The same packet on ClinReady Sign

ClinReady Sign's Healthcare Pack ships these as ready templates, and its AI packet builder can assemble a routed packet from a plain-English description ("onboard this RN, W-2, assigned to a Maryland facility") rather than a blank editor. The click-through BAA is executed in-app before any PHI-handling feature unlocks, so there's no separate sales conversation to start using it for protected health information — subject to each organization's own PHI/data-handling review, since ClinReady Sign is not itself a certifying body.

Frequently asked questions

Does ClinReady Sign offer a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement?

Yes — a counsel-reviewed BAA that healthcare organizations execute in-app before sending PHI through the platform. ClinReady Sign does not hold a HIPAA certification or a SOC 2 report; no such certification exists for individual vendors to "hold" in the way marketing material sometimes implies, and we document our controls rather than claim certification.

Do DocuSign, PandaDoc, or SignNow include a BAA on their standard plans?

Based on each vendor's own pricing page as of October 2026: no. DocuSign's self-serve Personal, Standard, and Business Pro plans explicitly mark HIPAA/BAA support as not included — it requires contacting sales about an Enhanced or custom plan. PandaDoc's pricing page doesn't state BAA terms. SignNow ties HIPAA support to its Site License tier specifically, as a separate add-on requiring a BAA.

Which is cheapest for a small healthcare team?

For a 15-person team, ClinReady Sign's Business plan ($99/month flat) is less expensive than DocuSign or PandaDoc at current published pricing. SignNow's Business tier is nominally cheaper per seat (~$120/month for 15 users) but doesn't include HIPAA/BAA support at that tier — that requires upgrading to Site License, which isn't publicly priced.

Is any of these four vendors actually "HIPAA certified"?

No. There is no official US government "HIPAA certification" that a software vendor can hold — this is a common but inaccurate claim across the e-signature industry. What matters is whether a vendor will sign a Business Associate Agreement and what technical/administrative controls back it. We encourage verifying BAA terms directly with any vendor, including us, before sending protected health information.

Sources